week 2 – 8″ x 10″



week 2 – 8" x 10", originally uploaded by tanisalexis.

Another weekly wrap -up from the Get Your Paint On! painting class I’m part of. Last week the assignment was all about Subject Matter & Style. We had to pick an element from a piece of art or artist that you loved and use that somehow in your own painting.
here is what I wrote about my own submission this week when I added it to the class pool on flickr:

My inspirational artist this week was Deth P. Sun http://www.dethpsun.com/
His work speaks to me on many levels so I thought it would be fun to see what I could do with it all. His narratives in most of his works are very cool to me, and I’ve told myself to concentrate on that in my own work along with more portraiture in the future.
So, Deth’s works mostly consist of a really basic palette of colour. Lots of grey’s, blacks, greens, a pop here and there of bright colours…this appealed to me. His line work also really appeals.

So I took at as a challenge to myself…instead of leaning towards more gratuitous amounts of colour, I chose the basic colour palette as my starting point. Black, Blue, Grey and Green….This quickly turned out to be a big defeat on my part!!! hahaha! I love colour! and here I was half-way through the painting, thinking to myself: “I just broke the rules I laid down for myself!!! sheesh!” so instead of fighting what came naturally, I embraced it.

So let’s say I just used Deth P. Sun’s use of nighttime and outdoor scenery as my inspiration and leave it at that. Hahaha, oh and the line work didn’t really turn out as I expected, but I should know by now that nothing I ever sit down to create EVER turns out exactly as I had visualised …and to just embrace that chaos in my head and enjoy the ride.
This is acrylic paint with pen sketch.

Quick note about the subject matter (Tipi’s) This is the 1st time I’ve attempted a rendering of Tipi’s. this photo really jumped out at me…. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Buffalo_tipi_on_left,_Sna…
so I went with it. šŸ˜‰

This was overall a daunting and interesting experience. I’ve spent time trying to figure out my own persosnal style and the subject matter that best suits my style and I feel like it’s always an ongoing process of evolution…I can’t stick to one thing for too long or I feel like it’s been overworked and then it gets boring to me.
the “cloud” imagery is definitely a personal symbol of mine, and creeps up whenever I doodle, paint or draw. šŸ™‚

so there you go! this week is about Colour (right up my alley!) but we’ve also been asked to go outside of our comfort zones in regards to subject matter. I have been simultaneously dreading and hoping for this….I get to really explore some matter that I am not comfortable with and this is a good thing! until next week my friends, stay creative!!!
xo!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “week 2 – 8″ x 10″

  1. Ele

    hey Tanis,

    I’ve got fibre art you made and a Deth P. Sun print on the same wall of my home. Your respective styles eems like a good combo to me!

    Best,
    Ele

Leave a Reply

