Get Your Paint On! Week 1 project.



Week 1 – final painting, originally uploaded by tanisalexis.

Acrylic on Canvas – 10″ X 12″

Subject based on the amazing Gee’s Bend Quilts of Alabama.

Last month, as I planned my new year resolutions, I knew that taking some classes was part of my future. Well, before I knew it, the announcement for ‘Get Your Paint On!’ online painting classes started flying online…I checked it out and discovered that one of my favourite current artists, Lisa Congdon along with Mati McDonough would be hosting these classes. I was hooked, sign me up please!!!!

well, we’re coming to the home stretch on our first week and I am happy to be part of it all. The first theme/subject matter for our 1st week is the amazing Gee’s Bend Quilts. These are new to me. and a wonderful place to get back into painting.

here are some notes on my process:
….so after staring at the quilts and feeling my heart beat a little faster after viewing some of them…I felt in awe of the history and hard work put into the Gee’s Bend Quilts. So I decided the process was best if I just tried to be as improvisational as possible with the whole creation of my painting. Similar to the ladies working on their quilts, they would add piece by piece a coveted fabric, a familiar piece of clothing or whatever they could get their hands on and go from there. I wanted to add my own patterns as I went along, with no real idea of how the final piece would look like. I knew there was no chance of me emulating EXACTLY one quilt or another, so I basically winged it! colours, patterns, texutres…all unplanned. And you know what? it was soooo fun!!

I hope to post my weekly projects as we go!

Happy Chinese New Year friends, it’s a lucky year being the year of the rabbit!

xo

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Get Your Paint On! Week 1 project.

  1. Wowee!
    I want to curl up in your painting- it has a very quilt-ish quality!
    I’ve been thinking about painting textiles (knitting and crochet) for a while now, this is definitely an inspiration!

  2. tanis alexis

    Hooray! Ashley, I am so glad that the inspiration continues to spread! 🙂 thank you so much and here’s to creative adventures! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

