inspirations – happy friday!

It must be the bright rays of sunshine hitting me in the eyes today, after a week of dreary typical West Coast weather -including a hit of unseasonal snow- that has made me want to post these fun few things that make me smile. Sunshine makes me smile. I hope these things make you smile too.

Beard Papa’s ( www.muginohousa.com/Β ) is a Japanese franchise. They specialize in cream puffs. Here I was this whole time thinking I knew exactly what a cream puff was, let me tell you I was wrong!! This whole time I thought a cream puff was something simple, something so basic and kind of boring compared to the many other glorious desserts out there.. The name ‘cream puff’ being almost the best part of what it actually was..I was very very wrong.Β  And I’m so glad I am. This particular delight is exactly what childhood dreams are made of. This!!! is a Cream Puff! The exterior is a light crispy and cloud like pastry, not too sweet, just perfect providing a save haven for the cream inside. When you order a cream puff in this establishment, they do it properly by filling each one as ordered. No soggy pastry! no foolish haste, they are filled at the time of consumption. We order the vanilla (they also have strawberry and chocolate) we are purists and vanilla seems like the real deal. And is it ever! The cream filling, again not too sweet is light and filled with real vanilla seeds. You’d think by sight that these would be heavy, filling and rich. They are not. The cream is kept refrigerated until filling, and the cool temperature of the cream lends itself to being almost a refreshing kind of delight…light, creamy, cloud-like…Have I described it enough? We’re fortunate to have one of these franchises on Denman street here in Vancouver, just across the street from English Bay beach. I see myself going down the the beach this Summer, ordering a giant hotdog from the ‘Dogfather’ to split with the mister, and then venturing over to Beard Papa’s for a couple of cream puffs for desert.

Call me addicted, but it certainly sounds like an ideal date night to me!

The next inspiration for me this week has been this c.d we purchased the other weekend. I had heard many a great review for this wonderful musical couple as well as quite a few of their older songs on my favourite station to stream online ckua.comΒ They inform me of some really amazing musicians that I would never otherwise know about and that alone makes me grateful.

When the mister and I went out window shopping last weekend, we saw this and knew it had to be ours. Besides the fantastic photos and spread inside the album. The music is an ecclectic mix of synthesized electronics, beautiful African beats, guest producers and collaborators. Do yourself a favour and check them out, I cannot do justice here describing their sounds, their talents and their amazing love story too.

And lastly! Leonard Cohen is on his last stint of his world tour and is coming to my neck of the woods in April. Tickets for Vancouver go on sale on March 3rd and I was hoping I might be able to scrape some savings together to see him as this WILL BE the only ‘once-in-a-lifetime’ moment to see him live. He is after all in his 80’s and I’m sure to retire after this long tour. Sadly I’ve discovered that tickets are going for $95-550!!!!!!!!!! for his performance here in Vancouver. ARG! There is no possibility of paying that much to see him, and I guess the organizers of this tour know that this is one of those moments where most people will pay that sort of money if they can afford to see him. BOO! I say. hahaha! I’m sorry Leonard! I wish I could see you, for so many reasons. Mainly for the fact that I sung to your songs when I was only 12 as I taught myself how to paint in my Mum’s basement.

The radio station I mentioned above -ckua.org- located in Alberta just announced a giveaway for 2 pairs of tickets and can you believe I sat on the phone trying to get through just as I type this post! Hahaha, seriously, if I had won, it would’ve been cheaper for me to get a cheap flight back to my hometown of Edmonton to see him instead of paying the incredibly ridiculous ticket prices here.

SIGH!

oh well.

Leonard, I still love you, but please know that seeing you live is (almost) an impossibility for me in Vancouver.

XO!! happy weekend everyone. I hope it’s filled with sweet treats, great music, and lots of sunshine.

5 Comments

Filed under inspirations

5 responses to “inspirations – happy friday!

  1. Oh My…those cream puffs look awesome!

    Sigh…not much chance of getting a Beard Papa cream puff OR a chance to see Leonard Cohen in my neck of the woods.

    Guess I can always eat a Tim Horton’s doughnut and wait for Blue Rodeo to come back to the bay. lol

  2. omigod…those cream puffs look delicious! My mom used to make these and they were always my favorite of her desserts. So sorry that you can’t swing the LC concert. I know what a fan you are. I’m tagging along with two other couples next month when he performs in San Diego. We got lucky.

  3. Damn you Tanis~! We were down in English Bay yesterday and I HAD to try one of those cream puffs after I read about them here. Good lord they are delicious! These will forever replace the Cupcakes indulgence that usually happens when we visit English Bay. Thank you or curse you – don’t know which . . .

  4. tanisalexis

    lol! ladies; I’m so glad I can inspire, or should I say…make you drool? πŸ˜‰
    christi πŸ˜€ heh-heh-heh.. I completely abandoned my love for those fancy cupcakes for my newfound love for cream puffs..english bay: so many choices so little room in my tummy! πŸ˜‰

    lori: I am SO GLAD to hear you’re making it to see Leonard!! That honestly makes up for me not being able to see him knowing you will! xo!

    beth: blue rodeo is great! and so is timmy’s. πŸ˜‰ I could always try mailing you a cream puff if you wanted? no guarantee on freshness tho! πŸ™‚

  5. LOVE your new space!! I’m on wordpress for another blog of mine that I must update. btw, you had me at cream puffs!!

Leave a Reply

