flashback – new habits over old

new habits over old

I think it’s this time of year. The first month of a new year. I spend a fair amount of time dreaming about what exactly I’d like to have happen.

This painting hangs on my livingroom wall. I painted it during a flurry of activity almost 3 years ago, among about 10 other paintings in a series I called “Quantuum Theories”.Β  All based on new ideas, new thoughts and renewed hope for the future. This painting I titled: ‘New Habits Over Old’

And this is exactly where I stand in my brain today.Β 

New habits over old is based on the theory that in order to break your habits, your routines, and your old way of thinking –Β is to rewrite over the old. The neural nets in the brain are powerful paths to how you think.

To break the links in your brain that lead you from one old habit to another and to re-route those new links in your brain to something more preferable. To something new and fresh and more suitable for your life.

I believe change is good. We as humans need change, although sometimes very far out of our comfort zone, change challenges us to practice adversity, faith, and strength.. we are by nature, evolutionary beings.

I continue to look at this painting with hope that I have the strength and willpower to change the things I can and to accept the things out of my control.

Kung Hei Fat Choi to you all too! the year of the ox brings much diversity and challenge. Let’s embrace it all with a positive heart.

xo!

3 Comments

Filed under Flashback

3 responses to “flashback – new habits over old

  1. I love the way you think and the way you paint. So very true about new habits. πŸ™‚ Happy New Year to you too, my dear Tanis. XO

  2. minouette

    Gung hei fat choi!
    Your quantum physics paintings are some of my favorites.
    πŸ™‚

  3. it’s beautiful!
    you’re beautiful!
    thanks for inspiring me, sweets!

Leave a Reply

